Welcome admin !

It is currently Tue May 23, 2017 1:41 pm
Pathway:  Board index Zen Discussion Forum Zen Practice & Philosophy Zen Buddhism Practical Buddhism

Work Practice/Practice at Work

Discussion of Zen Buddhism-in-action, application in daily life.

Work Practice/Practice at Work

Postby JessicaLeigh on Thu Jun 18, 2015 12:09 am

Hello friends,

Let's talk about work practice. What practices do you do at work? What challenges do you face? How does your practice look in the workplace?

I work in retail so much of my work day is spent stocking product, building displays look pretty, and interacting with customers. I spend a lot of time at work, and it's becoming increasingly important to me that I learn a way to make use of this time for my practice.

One common suggestion is to practice single-minded focus on the task at hand. Another way I've heard this articulated is: be aware of the movements of the body. Anyone have experience with this? This is really challenging for me. I try to bring myself back when I notice wandering thoughts. I can do that for a while. But after the first hour or two at work, I don't notice the wandering thoughts anymore. I just get carried off by them, by my internal monologue, and so I loose my awareness, my ability to return.

Please share your experiences/thoughts/comments/suggestions :)

Jessica

(By the way, Whole Foods Market has awesome quality standards and business practices, and you guys should totally shop there :) If you're in the DC area, come by Tenlytown & see me. You can sample some body scrubs or moisturizers, and look at our really cool signs that say things like: "Treat Your Body Like it Belongs to Someone You Love.")
"One does not discover new lands without consenting to lose sight of the shore for a very long time." -Andrè Gide
JessicaLeigh

Re: Work Practice/Practice at Work

Postby desert_woodworker on Thu Jun 18, 2015 12:55 am

Jessica,