Welcome admin !

It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 3:39 am
Pathway:  Board index General Discussion Forum and Lounge Current Events & Politics

Population Growth

Population Growth

Postby Michaeljc on Sun May 31, 2015 3:50 am

“Growth at all cost” is becoming the norm among all Western politicians. Only growth will keep them in power and banks profitable. They pay lip service to public health and wellbeing while being quite willing to send future generations down the gurgler

Earth is vastly overpopulated by humans. What could not be more clear? Yet, Western policy makers keep bringing in young immigrants and promote higher birth rates. The latest panic is in Germany where birth rate has dropped lower than Japan’s. There will not be enough young productive tax payers to support the elderly

Sorry guys, I am a not a demographic statistician, but is this sustainable? How many more young people will be required to support that latest imports when they age? Durrr :blush:

Meantime, I and many other people over 60, are struggling to find work

Another panic is that a number of countries have moved into deflation. Gee shucks the workers who's salaries have not kept pace with inflation may be able to buy food cheaper than last month

Where is a economic model that addresses prosperity without growth or ANY enlightened economist who considers it important?

Dumb ignorance has always irritated me, especially when it comes from people who claim to know what is best for us

I have got to say that if Earth is to sustain humans it needs to give us a whack of reality. Nature is not compassionate. Sooner or later it will do its job because we won’t. We are a disgrace to the universe

That’s my bitch of the week

m
Last edited by Michaeljc on Sun May 31, 2015 4:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
Michaeljc

Re: Population Growth

Postby desert_woodworker on Sun May 31, 2015 4:00 am